Tags

, , , , , , ,

Never underestimate the media’s willingness to tackle the subject of white sorority girls. Don’t forget that the vast majority of media establishments, old and new, are run by older white men.

alpha-phi-video-girls-in-circlejpg-f72a99d736979ca4

This recruitment video for ‘Bama’s Alpha Phi sorority has been making the rounds for the past day or two, triggered by a local writer’s denouncing its conformity and anti-feminist themes. I’ve republished it here, replacing its ear-trauma-inducing original theme for one more appropriate.

According to writer A.L. Bailey, “It’s all so racially and aesthetically homogeneous and forced, so hyper-feminine, so reductive and objectifying, so Stepford Wives: College Edition. It’s all so … unempowering.”

As a veteran of two different Midwestern campuses, I really don’t see what’s so unique about this sorority or why it has triggered the ire of liberals like Bailey, or ‘Bama’s administration which also condemned the sorority.

It’s not exactly news that most white sororities are hardly bastions of feminist, progressive or creative energy. I doubt there are too many registered Democrats at this chapter of Alpha Phi. But… so what? Who cares? There are just as many girls like this at your typical campus as there are artsy, progressive granola girls, and if you had to ask me which sort was more “homogenous,” I’d have to sit down and think about it.

Now I’ve written before how I don’t like white culture and how white culture doesn’t like me. I’m one step away from being the male Rachel Dolezal. So it’s true that I regard this sort of white girl as an alien from another planet, but that’s not the point. Being diversity-minded (as I’m sure Bailey brags about being) means respecting ALL cultures. Even those of girls who are indeed white Republican future Stepford wives, bottle-blonded to the max, married at 22 and divorced at 33.

So I’m mostly on board with right-wing (yet excellent to read) writer David French’s befuddlement at all the hoopla (other than his standard denunciation of red-solo-cup Greek culture). I may not understand the appeal of such a sorority, but I do understand that a lot of girls (especially in Midwestern and Southern states) simply live for that shit.

But I have to take exception with his colleague Ian Tuttle, who said: “I’d like to think that I am much more open-minded, and that I would be willing to get to know each Alpha Phi sister personally. In fact, if any Alpha Phis are reading, I’m available to do so. Very, very available…” It makes one want to take a shower.

Look: we all know what this is really about. A bunch of male-run media outlets found an excuse to talk about white sorority girls, and that’s that. It is similar to CNN’s perennial dead-white-girl syndrome: we wouldn’t be talking about this if they weren’t white, young, and pretty. Because of the guys who run these outfits. End of story. The rest is just all so much piffle.

