Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hillary is the lesser of two evils. No question. At least under her, I won’t have as much fear of a sudden nuclear conflagration for no damn reason, let alone destabilization of the dollar; recession as international investors flee; downgrade of American debt and subsequent increase in our debt APR; loss of even our most important allies such as Japan; mass abrogation of civil rights of immigrants, Muslims, women, and anyone who publically badmouthed the president; renormalization in society of explicit racism. All of these are very real possibilities under Trump.

SONY DSC

All that said, I just cannot bring myself to pull the lever for HRC. I’ve written more than a few posts on why in this blog, but four big reasons are Sid Blumenthal, Lanny Davis, David Brock, and Huma Abedin. You can judge a person by who they choose to surround themselves with — Trump and his obnoxious toadies represent a case study — and not even the most vocal #ImWithHer Hillary backer has ever mounted a defense of these horrible, horrible people. Hillary has had plenty of time to remove these people from her presence, even when they were bringing bad publicity onto herself, even when Obama himself wanted nothing to do with the odious Blumenthal while she worked in his administration, and she still kept these people close. It simply says a lot about her and her moral character. And then we get to her system of patronage and special privileges to those with connections; the warmongering that makes even Trump look like a peacenik; the cynicism that makes her honestly consider Henry Kissinger one of our best Secretaries of State ever; and did I mention the corruption?

I. Just. Can’t. Do. It.

Maybe I would feel some guilt if I lived in a battleground state with my #NeverHillary attitude. But I would still do what I’m going to do now, which is vote third party.

Either way, I hold no illusions it will result in someone else getting elected. Nobody electable in the GOP has mounted an independent bid, and Bernie has ruled out one from the left. There will be no third-party candidate who will approach even Perot levels of viability this year, let alone anyone who can hope to carry even a single state. I may as well stay at home.

Except, not really. A protest vote is not the same as not voting. My hope is that there will be an unusually high number of third-party votes cast nationwide in November, enough to garner at least a modicum of media attention and a few thinkpieces in the right publications. Maybe a few “the system is broken” stories would emerge, and help encourage people to nominate candidates that aren’t quite so awful as the two on hand this year. Maybe the “race to the bottom” made memorable in the GOP primaries is not the way to go after all.

As far as who I’ll vote for specifically, I have no idea. Gary Johnson? Jill Stein? Someone else? Maybe the craziest SOB I can find on the ballot? I’m open to suggestions.

Either way, I am #NeverHillary and #NeverTrump. A pox on both their houses.

(This optimistic, uplifting, humorous post brought to you by the letter F.)

